ANDY GARDINER President of the Senate



Senator Rob Bradley Senator Alan Hays Senator Jeremy Ring Senator Wilton Simpson

THE FLORIDA LEGISLATURE JOINT LEGISLATIVE AUDITING COMMITTEE

Representative Daniel Raulerson, Chair Senator Joseph Abruzzo, Vice Chair





Representative Debbie Mayfield Representative Amanda Murphy Representative Ray Rodrigues Representative Cynthia Stafford

December 16, 2015

Mr. Jesse Panuccio, Executive Director Department of Economic Opportunity 107 East Madison Street Caldwell Building, Suite 212 Tallahassee, Florida 32399-4120

Dear Director Panuccio:

The Joint Legislative Auditing Committee (Committee) met on November 2, 2015, and discussed local governmental entities that have not complied with the reporting requirements set forth in Sections 218.39(1) and 218.32(1)(a), F.S. In accordance with the provisions of Sections 11.45(7)(a) and 218.32(1)(f), F.S., the Committee adopted a motion to take action pursuant to Sections 11.40(2), F.S.

Section 11.40(2), F.S., provides, in part, that, if the Committee determines one or more local governmental entities should be subjected to further state action, the Committee shall:

In the case of a special district, notify the Department of Economic Opportunity that the special district has failed to comply with the law. Upon receipt of notification, the Department of Economic Opportunity shall proceed pursuant to Sections 189.4044 or 189.421, F.S.

Enclosed is a list of special districts that the Committee has determined should be subject to further state action. Accordingly, the Committee requests that the Department of Economic Opportunity proceed pursuant to the provisions specified in Sections 189.4044 or 189.421, F.S.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to call me at 487-4110.

Sincerely,

Kathryn H. DuBose

Dull E. White

Coordinator

Representative Daniel Raulerson, Chair cc:

The Honorable Jeff Atwater, Chief Financial Officer

Sherrill Norman, Auditor General

for Kathryn H. Du Bose

Mr. Michael S. Murphy, Registered Agent for:

Cooperative Producers Water Control District

Mr. Larry R. Stout, Registered Agent for:

Housing Finance Authority of Volusia County

Ms. Jean A. Carignan, Registered Agent for:

Westwood Dependent Tax District

Mr. Jack Gaskins, Department of Economic Opportunity

LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL ENTITIES THAT DID NOT SUBMIT THE REPORTS REQUIRED BY S. 218.32 AND S. 219.39, F.S.

DEPENDENT SPECIAL DISTRICTS (County)	FY 2013-14	
	AFR	Audit
Cooperative Producers Water Control District (Hendry County)	X	(1)
Housing Finance Authority of Volusia County (Volusia County)	X	(1)
Westwood Dependent Tax District (Hillsborough County)	X	(1)

LEGEND:

X = not yet received

Note

(1) The Auditor General's Office was unable to obtain sufficient information to determine whether the district met the threshold for the requirement of an audit for this fiscal year.