Four Additional Counties Approved for Disaster Unemployment Assistance (10/23/08)

For Immediate Release 
October 23, 2008   

Robby Cunningham
(850) 245-7130, (850) 728-3996

Four Additional Counties Approved for Disaster Unemployment Assistance

~Citizens in eight counties remain eligible to receive relief from Tropical Storm Fay~

Tallahassee, FL – Pursuant to Governor Charlie Crist’s requests for federal individual assistance, the Agency for Workforce Innovation has worked closely with the U.S. Department of Labor (USDOL) to receive Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) to help the people of Florida recover from Tropical Storm Fay.

Disaster Unemployment Assistance helps people who have become unemployed as a direct result of a declared disaster and who do not qualify for regular unemployment benefits. 

Individuals in eight counties remain eligible for DUA, including those in recently-approved Bradford, Clay, Madison and Taylor Counties. Funding may be requested for additional counties as further damage assessments are made. Already, a total of 27 Florida counties have been approved to receive assistance, which was estimated to be more than $7.7 million in DUA.

“As we continue to receive requests for assistance, we remain committed to helping Floridians who lost their jobs or businesses due to the effects of Tropical Storm Fay,” said Monesia T. Brown, Director of the Agency for Workforce Innovation.  “Disaster Unemployment Assistance provides benefit payments to help people recover and transition back into the workforce as quickly as possible.”

Many workers will be eligible for the state’s regular unemployment compensation program; those who are not may be eligible for DUA.  The DUA program also covers self-employed individuals, owners and workers of farms and ranches, as well as fishers and others who are not normally covered by state unemployment compensation.


Individuals who:

  • Have no entitlement to state unemployment compensation;and
    • Have been working or residing in a county for which the disaster has been officially declared; and either:
    • Become unemployed as a direct result of a declared disaster; or
    • Are unable to reach their place of employment as a direct result of the disaster; or
    • Have become the major support for a household because the head of the household has died as a direct result of the disaster; or
    • Cannot work because of an injury caused directly by the disaster.
  • Have exhausted entitlement to state unemployment compensation and were scheduled to begin work and do not have a job or are unable to reach the job as a direct result of the disaster.


Individuals may:

Information required when filing:

  • Social Security number (SSN) 
  • Alien registration number and expiration date (if a non-U.S. citizen) 
  • Name and address of most recent employer(s) 
  • Name and address of employer and date work was to begin (for those scheduled to begin work but could not, due to the disaster)  
  • If self-employed, you must have proof of self-employment, to include:
  1. State or federal tax returns
  2. Financial statements
  3. Bank records of accounts or 1099 Forms
  4. Documentation necessary to support a claim may be faxed to 850-921-3938 after filing (applicant’s SSN should appear on all documents)


  • No later than October 29, 2008 for DUA claims in: Alachua, Gadsden, Liberty and Martin Counties
  • No later than November 24, 2008 for DUA claims in: Bradford, Clay, Madison and Taylor Counties
  • NOTE: DUA benefits are available to unemployed individuals for up to 26 weeks from the date of the disaster declaration.  The 26-week assistance period for Tropical Storm Fay ends February 21, 2009.

National Emergency Grant - The Agency also recently announced receipt of a National Emergency Grant, providing up to $20 million to help create jobs and provide local humanitarian assistance in the wake of Tropical Storm Fay.  Follow this link for more information.

An equal opportunity employer/program.  Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.
All voice telephone numbers on this website may be reached by persons using TTY/TDD equipment via the Florida Relay Service at 711.
You have selected a link to a website that is outside of the domain. Control of the content of this website belongs to the website's owner and not to the Department of Economic Opportunity.